“How to lose your fear of tensor products”

Here is a great site that can help you get an intuition for tensor products.

About juliaudell

My research interests consist primarily of bioinformatics. Currently I'm trying to find structure in gene sequencing data for a highly variable and mysterious gene that plays a major role in the immune system. I have a soft spot for combinatorics and I love finding new and interesting applications of it in the world around us. When I'm not working or studying, I can be found listening to music while playing in the garden or kitchen. I love trying flavorful new recipes so send your favorites my way.

One comment

  1. Thank you Julia! This is very helpful (if a bit long. :))
    I will say more about tensor products on Thursday. In the meantime, you might want to check this out:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tensor_product#Characterization_by_a_universal_property
    This universal property is extremely useful for proving things about tensor products. I will discuss this in class and give examples.

Leave a Reply

